Whiteside County Facts
Whiteside County is the Birthplace of Ronald Wilson Reagan. He was born in Tampico in 1911. Illinois became a state in 1819, at that time, Whiteside County was included in Tazewell County along with most of Northern Illinois. In 1827 the area fell within Jo Daviess County except for what became Portland and Prophetstown Townships which were included in Henry County. On January 16, 1836, Whiteside County was formed with its current boundaries, but it continued to be attached to Jo Daviess County until December 1836 when it was attached to Ogle County. On May 6, 1839, the first Officers of Whiteside County were elected, and the county completed its organization thus terminating the connection with Ogle County. Whiteside County is located in Northwestern Illinois along the Mississippi River. The terrain varies from steep limestone bluffs along the Mississippi in the Northwestern part of the county to the flat bottom lands in the Southwest with rolling hills to the east. The County Seat is Morrison, Illinois located at the intersection of US Highways 78 and 30.
Adjacent Counties are Bureau, Ogle, Carroll, Rock Island, Henry, Clinton County, Iowa, Scott County, Iowa, Lee
Previous  |  Next ]     [ Up  |  First  |  Last ]     (Article 60 of 61)